Weekly Coach’s Challenge

coffee-564336_640

As kids are going back to school, life becomes busier. With school functions, work and other daily commitments we can feel overwhelmed. When we feel overwhelmed we then want to escape or ignore what needs to be done. As I am writing this I am looking at the stack of school paperwork I need to fill out for the schools. We have one in elementary, one in middle and one in high school. The stack is an inch thick. The last thing I want to do is fill it out and was happy I have a 3-day weekend to do it. This leads me to this weeks’ challenge.

One behavior I follow and teach is to live simply. That is what we should strive for every day. If you have more on your plate than you are able to handle right now, it is perfectly OK to say no to things that will overwhelm you and fill up all your time. Obviously, I am not talking about neglecting your personal or family needs to go off and run away to Cancun. But, find things taking up your mental space and emotional time. If someone asks you to volunteer at something or take on more than you desire to, say NO and mean it. This is for you, so you can be happy in the present.

Schedule a little time each day this week to do something that brings you joy. Even just 10 minutes to start then add a few more minutes each day. Here are a few ideas to get you started:

  • Go for a walk around the block. Put on some music and look around. Notice the leaves changing colors, feel the crisp autumn air. A walk can be refreshing after a long day or a great way to start your day. If you have a dog, they will thank you for it.
  • Meet up with a friend at a coffee shop for a beverage and a treat. Take the time to relax and share some laughs. Laughter is medicine for the soul.
  • Find a quiet area and put on some meditation music – the sounds of ocean waves or sounds of the forest. Close your eyes and imagine walking along the beach or forest path. If thoughts float into your mind then gently push them out. The goal here is to quiet the mind and the body. Breathe in through your nose and out through your mouth slowly.
  • Or my personal favorite is to pretend I am in England again and enjoy tea time. I sit with a cup of tea, a small treat and savor the quiet. I may read or journal at this time. If my kids are home, I include them too. A great way to reconnect with them.

I understand what it is like to be busy. At one point in my life, I had a 3 ½ , 1 ½ and a newborn. But those little ME times helped and I looked forward to them. So, no excuses, starting tomorrow schedule your ME time. If that means saying no or letting go of unimportant items then do it. Leave me a comment of what you are going to let go of and what your ME time is.

Leave a Reply

