Amputation is a hell of a motivator…

veruca

The day has finally come, the one I never thought I would see.  After a few years of borderline diabetes, my A1C came back with the diabetes diagnosis last week.  My family all had it and I had gestational diabetes twice. My former doctor said it was not a matter of if but when and my when showed up. I really did not have that bad of a diet. Could it have been better? Of course but then who is perfect. Did I mention Willy Wonka is my favorite movie?

I figure I have 2 choices.

  1. Complain about it which changes nothing.

or

  1. Use it to motivate me to gain control of the situation.

I am choosing number 2. That is not to say I did not have a pity party the first night with a spoon and jar of Nutella at midnight which is crazy because I never eat Nutella but now that I can’t I craved it. My doctor let me chose to try diet and exercise first before medication. I am now counting sugar and carbs It is amazing how much is in everything.  I found a recipe for banana and egg pancakes. I added a little stevia and vanilla. As I am taking my second bite I thought I better check the counts. Banana has 27 grams of carbs??? My trash got my breakfast so I made a Mediterranean omelet instead with only a few carbs and more filling. I need to look at what I can and not what I can’t. It is easy to get stuck in that pattern. No chocolate, ice cream, bread, pasta and the list goes on.  Once I have my numbers down I will allow a little more in my diet but this has really made me reevaluate my habits. And I do have so much to be thankful for. My numbers are not that bad, my husband and I are great cooks always looking to be creative with our meals and there is Pandora which helps me on my hour long walks.

Oh and the amputation? My grandfather had uncontrolled diabetes and had both legs from the hips down amputated and was blind from it.  When I feel like I want something that is not a good choice I only have to think of that to motivate me.

 

Leave a Reply

